KID’s Running Team

The KID Running Team has raised over $27,000 for KID’s life-saving programs. This year, our the team participated in the Healthy Driven Naperville Marathon and Half Marathon in October and raised $2,000 for KID!

Our amazing team runners were Daniel Paschall, Becca Stephen, Maggie Jones, Jason Hiquet, David Zivan and Bill Kirchhoff. Each runner raised funds to promote the development of safer children’s products, advocate for children, and educate the public — especially parents and caregivers — about dangerous children’s products.  Thank you so much for running to support KID!

Also, we want to extend a huge thank you to our incredible volunteers led by our Young Professional Board, who helped us fundraise and came out to race day to be Charity Mile Hero Volunteers — cheering on the KID Running Team and other marathoners. Sean Markel, Jasmine Kwong, Lakshmi Jampana, Poonam Sharma, Hannah Costigan-Cowles, Walter Costigan, Melissa Bocker, Cindy Lui and Clarissa Qu — we couldn’t have done it without you!

Check out some photos from the race here.  You can also still add to the team’s fundraising goal by giving here

Our runners and volunteers play a crucial role in raising awareness about KID and child product safety. Contact us if you would like more information about KID’s team!

KID Best Friend Award Night

Each year, KID commemorates our progress, honors the memory of Danny Keysar and other victims of unsafe children’s products and highlights the contributions of someone who has helped keep children safe — our Best Friend.

The 2016 KID Best Friend Award Night, was held on May 18, 2016. KID honored Lisa M. Turano, Turano Baking Company and The Turano Foundation for her long-time support and philanthropic commitment to KID. More information here!

Stay tuned for news of the 2017 Best Friend Award Night.


2001 E. Marla Felcher
for her groundbreaking book, It’s No Accident: How Corporations Sell Dangerous Baby Products

2002 NBC Target 5 Consumer Unit for outstanding coverage of children’s product safety

2003 Commissioner Caroline Shoenberger, State Senator Carol Ronen and US Representative Jan Schakowsky for their dedication to changing public policy to protect children

2004 Rachel Weintraub and Mary Ellen Fise for their role as strong advocates for children’s product safety

2005 Michigan Governor Jennifer M. Granholm for her support of the Children’s Product Safety Act and advocacy for children’s safety

2006 Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan for her enforcement of Illinois’ Children’s Product Safety Act and her strong commitment to children’s safety

2007 Robert Tanz, MD and Elizabeth Powell, MD, MPH for their leadership in injury prevention research and policy

2008 US Senator Richard Durbin for his commitment to children and leadership on product safety

2009 US Representative Bobby Rush and US Senator Mark Pryor for their commitment to children and leadership on product safety

2010 Gary Smith, MD for his pioneering work in the field of childhood injury prevention

2011 Mitch Lipka for his commitment to reporting on children’s product safety

2012 Sonny Garg for his instrumental role in developing responses to unsafe children’s products and his strong leadership in KID

2013 Shawn Kasserman for his strong voice in support of children’s product safety

2014 Inez Tenenbaum for her leadership on children’s product safety

2015 Barbara Guthrie for her leadership on children’s safety at Underwriters Laboratories

2016 Lisa M. Turano for her voice in support of children’s product safety and philanthropic support for KID